Instagram got its own version of Last Seen. Disable it now!

We all know the app Instagram. Wouldn’t you agree with me if I say that one of the best things about Instagram is its privacy?

source

Unlike Facebook, Messenger, and Whatsapp, which have the ‘Last Seen’ feature, Instagram’s privacy saves you from a lot of unwanted conversations and irritating messages. No More!

The day before, when I opened my DM screen on Instagram, it showed something that paused me.

 

After doing some checking out, I came to realize that Instagram has silently launched this new feature named ACTIVITY STATUS, that you may or may not find to be very helpful. At least, I personally don’t!

Activity Status is the Last Scene version of Instagram. It allows the profiles on your following list, and the people you have previously chatted with, to know when were you last active on Instagram.

This feature is enabled by default. So you’ll be constantly broadcasting every time you open the app, and the time since your last use will be shown to people on their direct messages(DM) screen.

We know this feature is very common on most other social networking websites and apps these days. But now, Instagram has also joined the bandwagon by introducing this new Activity Status feature to reveal more information about our behavior than before.

People have turned to Twitter with their opinions and reactions to this new addition to Instagram:

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

But can it be disabled?

Yes!

It took me a while to check but Instagram has made it extremely easy to turn off this new feature. And here’s how…

First, goto your profile screen and tap on the settings option.

On the settings menu, scroll down and you’ll find a new option saying “Show Activity Status” with a button on the right side. Swipe this button towards left and Bingo! You’re now browsing with more privacy.

However, like the similar features in other networking sites, the Activity Status is also a double-edged sword. If you turn off your Activity Status, you won’t be able to see other people’s either.

Do you like this update? Let us know in the Comments.

Also, check out Everything You Need To Know About White Balance

Facebook Comments

GlamFlame Studios